OUTSTANDING EDUCATOR AWARDS

The Oregon Academy of Science's Outstanding Teacher Awards are for Oregon teachers with demonstrated records of excellence in teaching in any of the subject areas represented by the Academy. Recipients of the award must have been Oregon residents during the time they made the distinguished contributions for which they are recognized. Past recipients of the Outstanding Teacher Award are listed below.

2016 Outstanding Educator Award – Higher Education Corinne Manogue & Tevian Dray

Corinne Manogue (physics) and Tevian Dray (mathematics) are professors at Oregon State University. Jointly, they have a unique research/teaching collaboration that addresses how the teaching of mathematics for use in the sciences should be re-envisioned. Corinne founded the Paradigms in Physics Project at OSU in 1996 with NSF funding now exceeding \$3,000,000. This collaboration led to a closely related project, the Vector Calculus Bridge Project, funded separately from 2001-2007 with Tevian as principle investigator. The Bridge Project attempts to "bridge the gap" between the way mathematicians traditionally teach vector calculus (algebraically), and the way physicists and other scientists use vector calculus (geometrically). Both are Fellows of the American Physical Society and each has won the College of Science Frederick H. Horne Award for Sustained Excellence in Teaching, as well the university-wide Elizabeth P. Ritchie Distinguished Professor Award at OSU. Corinne has additionally received OSU's Richard M. Bressler Senior Faculty Teaching Award and the American Association of Physics Teachers awarded her the prestigious David Halliday and Robert Resnick Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Physics Teaching in 2008. Tevian received the College of Science's Loyd Carter Award for Outstanding and Inspirational Undergraduate Teaching (the award is based entirely on student nomination and voting, and has been a finalist 3 times in 5 years). He has also been recognized with both of the University Honors College teaching awards: UHC Outstanding Professor (student-driven) and UHC Eminent Professor (selected by a university-wide faculty committee). Finally, the Pacific Northwest section of the Mathematical Association of America has recognized him with its award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics.

Awardees

- 2016 Corinne Manogue & Tevian Dray
- 2015 David Foster
- 2014 Angela Hoffman
- 2013 Robert T Butler
- 2012 No Award Given
- 2011 No Award Given
- 2010 Charles (Kip) Ault
- 2009 Charles Kunert
- 2008 April Ann Fong
- 2007 Tamina Toray
- 2003 Kenneth M. Doxsee